Skip to main content
Summit County Sheriff Logo

County of Summit

Sheriff's Office

Kandy Fatheree, Sheriff

Summit County Sheriff Fatheree Summit County Sheriff Fatheree
Menu
Summit County Sheriff Logo

County of Summit

Sheriff's Office

Kandy Fatheree, Sheriff

Summit County Sheriff Fatheree

Concealed Carry Licensing

(330) 643-7922

Eligibility & Requirements

  • The applicant must be 21 years of age or older.
  • The applicant must be a legal resident of the United States. If not born in the United States, they must provide a copy of their passport or naturalization paperwork.
  • The applicant must have been a resident of Ohio for 45 days preceding the date of application.
  • The applicant must have been a resident of Summit County or an adjoining county for 30 days preceding the date of application.
  • The applicant must certify that they desire a legal means to carry a concealed handgun for defending themselves or a member of their family while engaged in a lawful activity.
  • The applicant must not have any of the listed disqualifying offenses under State and Federal law (linked below).

Training Certificate

Applicants must present a Definition of Competency issued within the 3 years proceeding application certifying that the applicant has completed a firearms safety training course offered by the National Rifle Association that complies with the statutory requirements for its curriculum, OR a course that is open to the public that has qualified instructors offered by or under the auspices of a law enforcement agency, OR a peace officer training school that is approved by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, OR basic firearms training program that complies with statutory requirements, OR documentation that the applicant is currently an active reserve member of the United States armed forces and through their military training acquired weapons training equivalent to the training requirements required by Ohio law, OR documentation that within the last 6 years the applicant was honorably discharged from the United States armed forces of the United States and through their military training received firearms training equivalent to the training requirements required by Ohio law, OR is a retired trooper with Ohio State Patrol, a retired peace officer or a retired federal law enforcement officer, OR an affidavit that attests to the applicant’s satisfactory completion of a firearms safety course. (NOTE: a CCW license replaces a Competency Certification for future renewals. If renewing CCW and your previous license is from another county, a copy of your training certificate would be appreciated)

Paying Fees & Military Waiver

Cash, check, money order, and credit cards will be accepted. Processing fees will be charged for credit cards. Checks should be made payable to Summit County Sheriff’s Office.

If you are an active duty, reserve, or retired member of the armed forces, or you were honorably discharged, there is no fee to apply for a new or renewal license. You must present one of the following in order to waive the fee: an active duty ID, or a county-issued veteran ID card, or Form DD-214 showing an honorable discharge at the time of application. VA cards will not be accepted. (NOTE: The Attorney General monitors the number of license fees waived statewide and caps the total amount allowed to be waived at $1.5 million each year. When the state-wide cap is reached, the fee will no longer be waived until January of the following year)

Application Requirements

The address on your application must match the address on the driver’s license/state ID card, or the applicant must have the white card issued by the BMV stating you have updated your address with the BMV.

Applications must also include a color 2"x 2" photograph of the applicant taken against a plain white or light-colored background and consisting of the head and shoulders only. Images cannot be distorted or edited in any way, and must have been taken within 30 days of submission.

License Issuance

Upon receipt of an application for a license to carry a concealed handgun, the Sheriff will conduct a criminal records check and incompetency records check. The Sheriff’s Office will issue or deny CCW licenses within 45 working days of an application.

If your application is denied, the Sheriff will indicate in writing the reasons for the denial. Upon denial, the applicant may proceed through an appeals process.

Concealed handgun licenses that a Sheriff issues will expire five years after the date of issuance.

A CCW licensee may carry a concealed handgun anywhere in Ohio so long as they also carry a valid license and valid identification when the licensee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun. All CCW licensees must give notice of any change in their address to the Sheriff who issued the license within forty-five days after that change.

 

 

What You Will Need
 

New Applicants

  • Driver’s License or State ID
  • 2×2” photograph
  • Firearms training certificate
  • Processing Fee: $67.00 (OH residents for 5+ years), $78.25 (OH residents for less than 5 years) Military: DD-214, active/retired military ID, or county-issued veteran ID card to waive fee
  • Self-addressed, stamped envelope
     

Renewal Applicants

  • Driver’s License or State ID
  • 2×2” photograph
  • Current CCW License
  • Processing Fee: $50.00 (OH resident for 5+ years), $61.25 (OH resident for less than 5 years)
  • Self-addressed, stamped envelope
     

Replacement License

  • Driver’s License or State ID
  • Notarized affidavit or police report stating the circumstances surrounding the loss of your license
  • Processing Fee: $15.00

Those seeking a replacement license must schedule an appointment at the Jail by calling: (330) 643-7922
 

Address Change

Email CCWnotification@sheriff.summitoh.net and provide:

  • CCW License number
  • New address

Change of address does not require a new license to be issued. If you wish to have a new license, you will be charged a $15.00 processing fee
 

Name Change

  • Current CCW License
  • Legal document confirming the change of name
  • Processing Fee: $15.00
     

Temporary Emergency Application

  • Driver’s License or State ID
  • Completed and notarized Temporary Emergency CCW Application form (linked below)
  • Evidence of imminent danger (document from law enforcement, prosecutor or court, government entity or public official) and sworn affidavit
  • 2×2” photograph
  • Processing Fee: $37.00 (OH residents for 5+ years), $48.25 (OH residents for less than 5 years)
  • Self-addressed, stamped envelope

IN THIS SECTION: